Skip to main content


The Defence Force Remuneration Tribunal is an independent statutory authority established under section 58G of the Defence Act 1903. The Tribunal determine salary and relevant allowances for members of the Australian Defence Force having regard to the special nature of Defence Force Service.

About the Tribunal

The Tribunal's role is to:

  • To inquire into and determine the salaries and relevant allowances to be paid to members of the Australian Defence Force; and
  • To inquire into and make determinations on prescribed matters that have been referred to the Tribunal.

The Tribunal's work is predominantly determined by the matters brought before it by the parties, in particular the Australian Defence Force. To deal with these matters the Tribunal conducts hearings as and when required.

The Tribunal is supported by a secretariat staffed by the Australian Public Service Commission.

Interveners in Tribunal proceedings

Subsection 58K(9) of the Defence Act 1903 provides for persons to be heard in proceedings. Instructions to do so are in the Practice Statement (PDF, 93.68 KB)

ADF pay rates

ADF pay rate decisions can be found in the Tribunal determinations.

More detailed information on pay rates, section 58B allowances and the ADF Pay and Conditions Manual can be found at [External link]

Fees and Allowances

The fees and allowances of Defence Force Remuneration Tribunal members are determined by the Commonwealth Remuneration Tribunal. Details can be found at

  • This link opens the PDF in a new windowDownload the 2017-2018 Annual Report 978.3 KB PDF
  • Selecting a PDF from the dropdown list will open it

Tribunal Members

Ingrid Asbury

Ingrid Asbury

Ingrid Asbury was appointed the President of the Defence Force Remuneration Tribunal on 14thApril 2016. The President is also a Deputy President of the Fair Work Commission and is Chairperson of the Northern Territory Police Arbitral Tribunal. The President is a Member of the Annual Wage Review Expert Panel of the Fair Work Commission. The President is admitted as a Legal Practitioner of the Supreme Court of Queensland and holds the degrees of Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws.

Prior to her appointments to the Defence Force Remuneration Tribunal and the Fair Work Commission, President Asbury was a Commissioner of the Queensland Industrial Relations Commission and Fair Work Australia, National Industry Group Manager, Senior Industrial Officer and Industrial Officer of the Australian Industry Group, Metal Trades Industry Association and Australian Sugar Producer's Association.

Adrian Morris

Adrian Morris

Adrian Morris was appointed as a Member of the Tribunal for a five year period commencing 12 May 2016.  He is presently a Senior Consultant in the industrial relations and employment group of the law firm Ashurst.  He was a partner in that firm (previously known as Blake Dawson) from 1979 to April 2016.

Adrian has advised on strategic planning, change management, industrial relations and employment issues across a wide spectrum of industries including mining, oil, maritime, stevedoring, transport, manufacturing and construction.

Adrian was National Practice Leader of the firm's industrial relations and employment practice from 1996 to 2003.  From 2003 to 2006, he was an Executive Partner and a member of the firm's executive team with responsibilities including the industrial relations, employment, litigation and dispute resolution practice areas.  He has also served as a NSW Legal Aid Commissioner. Adrian is a graduate of Sydney University with Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws degrees.

Rear Admiral James Goldrick AO CSC RAN Rtd

Rear Admiral James Goldrick AO CSC RAN Rtd

Rear Admiral James Goldrick AO, CSC RAN (Retired) was appointed to the Tribunal for a five year period on 12 November 2015. He commanded HMA Ships Cessnock and Sydney (twice), the multinational maritime interception force in the Persian Gulf, the Australian Defence Force Academy (twice), Border Protection Command and the Australian Defence College. He is an Adjunct Professor at UNSW@Canberra (ADFA) and in SDSC at ANU. He was a visiting fellow at All Souls College, Oxford University in 2015. He is a member of the Defence Honours and Awards Appeals Tribunal and a member of the Expert Panel supporting the development of the latest Defence White Paper. He was awarded a Doctorate of Letters (honoris causa) by the University of NSW in 2006. His books include: No Easy Answers: The Development of the Navies of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka and Before Jutland: The Naval War in Northern European Waters August 1914-February 1915, and, with Jack McCaffrie, Navies of South-East Asia: A Comparative Study.